Hey everyone, just a quick heads-up. This community has been getting flooded with content from a site called “Townflex” that looks like it just republishes stories from elsewhere. I’m provisionally banning the site, because it’s difficult to assess their credibility, and the sheer flood of posts from it were beginning to look like site promotion - i.e., spam. Over the next few weeks, I’ll work on a bot to automatically remove submissions from the site.

If you’ve got a good reason for me to rethink this policy, please let me know below.

  • DarkSirrush@piefed.ca
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    47
    ·
    7 days ago

    If it helps, I have not seen a single one of those posts, which means its likely being posted by an account with the bot flag.

  • The Velour Fog @lemmy.world
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    32
    ·
    7 days ago

    Thank you so much!

    Townflex is essentially a clickbait ad-riddled site with a cheap thin veneer of a few news articles over it.

  • P03 Locke@lemmy.dbzer0.com
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    9
    ·
    7 days ago

    Good, I wanna say I saw this website pop up a lot when I found bot user accounts.

    I’ll point to this post as a suggestion for other forums, if I see similar patterns.